Flu fighting Instant pot chicken noodle soup

Hellloooo everyone!!

Thanks for stopping in. I’m sure you’ve all heard about that nasty flu bug that’s been going around. I’m sure you’ve also all underestimated the impact the flu can make on you or your household unless you’ve personally experienced it!

Well take it from someone who has been caring for 4 sicklings for a week now. It is NO FUN! Not one single bit.

I’ve been looking for something to help easy their sick stomachs and finally came up with a good recipe that has been tested and approved.

Today I’m making my second batch of homemade chicken noodle soup. The first round I used a pot on the oven and this time I got to thinking, I’m gonna use my instant pot and make this just a little bit easier on myself. And who doesn’t love a one pot cleanup!

Let me introduce to you…. instant pot chicken noodle soup!

Here comes the recipe!

I started with 4 frozen chicken breasts. Pop them in the instant pot with 1.5 cups of water for 15 minutes. After the 15 minutes I let it do a natural release for about 5 minutes then manually released the rest of the pressure.

While the chicken is cooking I chopped one onion up and gathered the rest of the ingredients.

Remove the chicken breast and water, set aside and let cool.

I then added a few tablespoons of olive oil to the instant pot and turned it on to sauté. Add one whole chopped onion to the pot.

Sauté until the onion is golden brown and cooked through.

Shut off the instant pot.

I then added 2 teaspoons of garlic powder, 1/2 a teaspoon of chili powder, 2 tablespoons of Italian seasoning, 1 teaspoon of fresh or dried dill, 2 tablespoons of lemon juice, and salt and pepper to taste.

Shred the chicken breasts and add to the pot with 8 cups of water, 4 chicken bouillon cubes and 1/2 a bag of mini carrots.

Because I didn’t have any egg noodles and didn’t feel like making any 😝 , and I did have spaghetti noodles on hand I decided I would take them and break them up small and add them into the pot.

Put the lid back on and make sure the pressure valve is set to close.

Turn the instant pot on to the rice setting which is 6 minutes. I’ve found that 6 minutes is the magic number for cooking pasta.

After the 6 minutes, turn the pressure valve to release pressure. When all the pressure is released, remove the lid and serve! Caution. The soup will be very hot!

Please drop me a comment below and let me know what you think! Would you add anything else? I would’ve added celery to but you know, don’t normally keep that on hand either 🙄.

I hope you enjoy this recipe!! 💗

– Kaitlyn G. 💗

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑